ECSSA Annual Research Awards

The ECSSA Annual Research Awards will be adjudicated and given every year, based on research completed or published between the closing date of the previous year and the current year’s closing date for nominations (in the case of 2020, between January and December 2020). The purpose of the awards is to recognise researchers who have produced meaningful work of a high quality in the field of pre-hospital emergency care in the preceding year.

1. Award Categories

1.1. Best Undergraduate Research

Eligibility: Research completed by one or more undergraduate students at a South African institution. Focus of the research must be on pre-hospital emergency care.

1.2. Best Postgraduate Research - Masters

Eligibility: Research completed by a Masters student at a South African institution, either full research or partial fulfilment. Focus of the research must be on pre-hospital emergency care.

1.3. Best Postgraduate Research - Doctoral

Eligibility: Research completed by a Doctoral student at a South African institution. Focus of the research must be on pre-hospital emergency care.

1.4. Best Postgraduate Research - Doctoral

Eligibility: Research published (or accepted for publication) in a peer-reviewed journal by a South African author (with or without co-authors) that is not associated with or arising from research for a qualification. Focus of the research must be on pre-hospital emergency care.

2. Criteria

2.1. Types of Research

For categories 1.1-1.3, nominations can be made in relation to completed research reports, dissertations or theses. Doctoral theses may be by the traditional method or by publication, however if by publication a completed thesis must still be the basis of the nomination rather than one or more of the resultant publications. Any type of research that has been accepted for an undergraduate, Masters or Doctoral qualification will be accepted for nomination.

For category 1.4, the nomination must be in relation to a published article (or one accepted for publication) that is either original research or a systematic review (with or without meta-analysis). Editorials, case reports, concepts, opinions, position statements, practice guides, guidelines, conference abstracts and letters to the editor will not be eligible for nomination. The nominated article must not be related to an undergraduate, Masters or Doctoral qualification.

In relation to the above, there are no restrictions on the type of research paradigm associated with a nomination – both quantitative and qualitative research will be eligible.

2.2. Pre-hospital Emergency Care Focus

Each nomination must be focused on the discipline of pre-hospital emergency care. The research in question must investigate a problem or problems in the pre-hospital environment and must make a contribution that is of value in that environment. The research does not necessarily need to be of a clinical nature and may investigate problems in education, operations, systems, dispatch or any other aspect of pre-hospital emergency care.

2.3. Local Relevance

Nominations must make a contribution to new knowledge that is locally relevant. This does not necessarily mean locally relevant to the exclusion of relevance in any other setting, as locally relevant knowledge may well be transferable to other settings. Research which deals with, or is based on problems from, or is only relevant to pre-hospital emergency care systems or populations unlike those encountered locally should not be considered for nomination.

3. Scoring

A scoring system, accompanied by a rubric (to follow), will be used to rank nominations within each category. Scoring, on a scale of 1-3 points, will apply to the following specific criteria: (i) level of research design complexity, (ii) methodological rigour, (iii) importance of results for the profession and (in the case of category 1.4) (iv) ranking of the journal in which the article is published. Within each research category, the nominated research with the highest average score from all judges will win the research award for that category, while the second highest average score will be the runner-up.

4. Nomination

The following must be supplied as part of each nomination:

Download the nomination form.

Copyright © 2011-2019 Emergency Care Society of South Africa. All rights reserved.

ECSSA Subscribes to the Indpependent Code of Governance for Non-Profit Organisations in South Africa